LDR 01: The start of my Long Distance Relationship.

Welcome to the first post in what may or may not be a series about my relationship with my girlfriend who is vietnamese, and lives in Ho Chi Minh City (Saigon). I’m feeling pretty sh*tty about being stuck so far from her so I though writing about it here may help me with it. Lucky you.

qxy0g

So I recently went on a month long trip to Vietnam. The intention of this trip was to shake up my life, I had gotten into a rut. Stuck. Bored.

Soul being slowly destroyed.

I decided I was going to do something. I’d always wanted to travel but had put it off for various made-up reasons, the ones you tell yourself so that you don’t have to face up to the fact you’re most likely never going to do it.

stuck-in-a-rut-1

Luckily I found myself in the financial position to quit my job and fund a one month trip travelling around Vietnam. I settled on a short, one country trip due to financial constrictions and it being my first time travelling. Alone as well.

Why Vietnam? I did my research. I checked backpacking blogs, travel sites, asked friends who have travelled. I settled early on South-East Asia simply because its one of the cheapest areas of the world to travel, and there is an insane amount of things to see and do in the region. The Indie Traveller website was a massive help in making a decision for me, and I recommend it to anyone and everyone thinking of travelling South-East Asia! http://www.indietraveller.co/south-east-asia-backpacking/

Untitled

So I went there for a culture shock. Like I said my life needed a shake up, I wanted a complete clash. I wanted temples, insane markets, modern cities beside centuries old culture, exotic food. That’s what I planned for. All I planned for.

I didn’t plan on meeting a Vietnamese girl in the first week of being in Saigon. exchanging names and numbers. Talking incessantly via social media as I made my way north via Nha Trang and Hoi An. Getting to Hue and flying back to Saigon just to spend the the last 2 and half weeks of my trip with her. And eventually having to fly away from her. To then be stuck 10,000km away from her with no definite way or time frame for getting back to her.

Simple_world_map.svg

Today is the my first full day back in the UK. I landed yesterday around 1pm  UK time, having left her in Saigon around 6pm Vietnamese time Monday. I’m not gonna lie, its incredibly hard, all I can think about is getting back to her, and being with her. But I don’t know when I’ll be able to do that, and so it’s going to take hard work, perseverance, and dedication. But she’s worth it. I won’t stop till I’m back there with her.

So I’m gonna use these blog posts to mark my progress towards that goal, to help me deal with the distance, to help me be strong to get back to her. I also post anything I find related to LDRs. Any other blog posts I found useful for coping, for things to do with your SO when apart, quotes, anything and everything.

Here’s to love. Peace x

long-distance-relationship-sayings

 

 

 

One thought on “LDR 01: The start of my Long Distance Relationship.

  1. I enjoyed your first post, I’m an LDR blogger too so I can completely relate! It’s emotionally hard at times but in the end, when you close that distance, it’ll all be worth it! Can’t wait to read more of your experiences, and hope you check out mine too, maybe you’ll find something useful in them! Best of luck😁

    Like

Leave a Reply

